4-1-12: VIOLATION:
   A.   Licenses issued under the provisions of this chapter may be restricted, suspended or revoked by the city clerk, after notice and an opportunity for a hearing, for any of the following causes:
      1.   Fraud, misrepresentation or false statement contained in the application for license.
      2.   Fraud, misrepresentation or false statement made in the course of carrying on the business.
      3.   Any violation of this chapter.
      4.   Conviction of any felony or any other crime involving moral turpitude.
      5.   Conducting business in violation of any city ordinance, county ordinance or state law relating to the public health, safety and welfare.
   B.   Notice of the restrictions, suspension or revocation of a license shall be given in writing, by the city clerk, setting forth the grounds for the restrictions, suspension or revocation. Such notice shall be mailed to the licensee at the address listed on the business license. The mailing of such notice shall constitute proper notice to the licensee.
   C.   Any person aggrieved by the denial of an application for license or by the restrictions placed upon the license or by the suspension or revocation of such license shall have the right of appeal to the council. Such appeal shall be taken by filing with the city clerk, within ten (10) calendar days after such denial, restriction, suspension or revocation, a written statement setting forth fully the grounds for the appeal. The council shall set a time and a place for hearing of such appeal, and notice of such hearing shall be mailed to the appellant at the address listed on the business license at least ten (10) calendar days prior to the date set for the hearing. The mailing of such notice shall constitute proper notice to the appellant. The decision and order of the council on such appeal shall be final. Once the council has made a final decision to suspend or revoke the business license, the marshal's office shall be responsible for ensuring no further business is conducted by that business by taking whatever actions are necessary to prevent future business from being conducted including locking the doors. Additionally, the marshal's office shall have the authority to criminally cite the person or company in accordance with subsection D of this section.
   D.   Any person, corporation, limited liability company, partnership, sole proprietorship or any other type of business entity of any form which violates any provision of this chapter or engages in business without a business license or conducts business after the council has made a final decision on appeal shall be guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes sections 13-802C and 13-803A4, and amendments thereto, by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500.00) for individuals and not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) for enterprises, or, pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes section 13-707A3, and amendments thereto, by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than thirty (30) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment. Each day that a violation is permitted to exist may constitute a separate offense. The imposition of any sentence shall not exempt the offender from compliance with the requirements of this chapter. (Ord. 2013-03, 1-22-2013)