The Council shall consist of seven (7) members elected on a nonpartisan ballot, at-large, for four overlapping terms.  At the first municipal election following adoption of the Charter, the four candidates receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected to four-year terms of office.  The three candidates receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected for two years as terms of office.  Thereafter each member of Council shall be elected for a four- year term of office.  The terms of Councilmembers shall begin the first day of January following their election.  They shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified to succeed them.  No Councilmember shall be eligible for more than three consecutive terms, whether full or partial.