The appointive members of the Planning and Zoning Commission shall be appointed as follows:
   Three members shall be appointed each year to hold office for three years. Those members in office as of February 17, 1972, shall continue to hold office for the terms for which appointed. The terms of the member of the Commission who is a City Councilman and the term of the administrative officer shall be co-extensive with the terms of office or period of employment to which they have been elected or appointed. No member shall serve for more than two consecutive full terms.
   Such members, including the member of Council, shall be nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by Council. (1970 Code Sec. 2-63)