(a)   The Civil Service Commission shall consist of three electors of the City, not holding other municipal office, to be appointed by the Mayor for a term of six years. The six-year terms of the members of the Civil Service Commission shall remain staggered so that the Mayor shall appoint one member to a six-year term every two years. A vacancy occurring during the term of any member of the Civil Service Commission shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner authorized for an original appointment.
   (b)   The Civil Service Commission shall designate one of its members as the Chairperson of the Civil Service Commission, and shall appoint a Secretary. The Secretary of the Civil Service Commission need not be a member of the Commission and may hold other municipal office or appointment.
   (c)   The Civil Service Commission shall provide by rule for the ascertainment of merit and fitness as the basis for appointment and promotion in the service of the City, and for appeals from the action of the Mayor in any case of transfer, reduction or removal, except as otherwise provided in this Charter. The action of the Commission on any such appeal shall be final except as otherwise provided by the laws of Ohio.
   (d)   Civil service examinations shall not be required for the appointment of any member of a board or commission, or any head of a department including the heads of the Police Department and the Fire Department, or any assistant to the Director of Law or to the Director of Finance, or any secretary to the Mayor or to the head of any department, or for appointment to any other office or position requiring peculiar and exceptional qualifications. Any person who shall have served the City for at least one year next preceding the taking effect of this Charter may be retained in the same or any similar position without examination. Except as herein provided, the Civil Service Commission shall determine the practicability of competitive examinations for any nonelective office or job classification in the service of the City.
(Approved by voters 11-7-2000)