(A)   Membership.
      (1)   The Planning Commission shall consist of ten citizens of the county appointed by the Board of Supervisors.
      (2)   Members may serve a maximum of two consecutive four-year terms with a one-term hiatus before being considered for reappointment.
   (B)   Powers and duties.
      (1)   With the staff support of the Land Use Administrator, the Planning Commission shall prepare and recommend for approval to the Board of Supervisors the Comprehensive Plan and ordinances related to orderly growth and development.
      (2)   In addition, the Planning Commission shall:
         (a)   Exercise general supervision of, and make regulations for, the administration of its affairs;
         (b)   Prescribe rules pertaining to its investigations and hearings;
         (c)   Supervise its fiscal affairs and responsibilities, under rules and regulations as prescribed by the governing body;
         (d)   Keep a complete record of its proceedings and be responsible for the custody and preservation of its papers and documents;
         (e)   Make recommendations to the BZA on matters related to BZA administration of this chapter;
         (f)   Make recommendations and an annual report to the governing body concerning the operation of the Commission and the status of planning within its jurisdiction;
         (g)   Prepare, publish, and distribute reports, ordinances, and other material relating to its activities;
         (h)   Prepare and submit an annual budget in the manner prescribed by the governing body of the county; and
         (i)   If deemed advisable, establish an advisory committee or committees.
(Ord. passed 11-9-1995; Ord. passed 4-10-2008)