Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(a) No person shall permit the operation of a motor vehicle upon any public or private property used by the public for purposes of vehicular travel or parking knowing the operator does not have a valid driver’s license issued to the operator by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles under Ohio R.C. Chapter 4507 or a valid commercial driver’s license issued under Ohio R.C. Chapter 4506.
(b) No person shall receive a driver's license, or a motorcycle operator's endorsement of a driver's or commercial driver's license, unless and until he surrenders to the Registrar all valid licenses issued to him by another jurisdiction recognized by the State of Ohio. No person shall be permitted to have more than one valid license at any time. (ORC 4507.02)
(c) (1) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, whoever violates subsection (a) hereof is guilty of an unclassified misdemeanor. When the offense is an unclassified misdemeanor, the offender shall be sentenced pursuant to Ohio R.C. 2929.21 to 2929.28, except that the offender shall not be sentenced to a jail term; the offender shall not be sentenced to a community residential sanction pursuant to Ohio R.C. 2929.26; notwithstanding division (A)(2)(a) of Ohio R.C. 2929.28, the offender may be fined up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) and, notwithstanding division (A)(3) of Ohio R.C. 2929.27, the offender may be ordered pursuant to division (C) of that section to serve a term of community service of up to five hundred hours. The failure of an offender to complete a term of community service imposed by the court may be punished as indirect criminal contempt under division (A) of Ohio R.C. 2705.02 that may be filed in the underlying case. If, within three years of the offense, the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to two or more violations of Ohio R.C. 4507.02 or a substantially equivalent municipal ordinance, the offense is a misdemeanor of the first degree.
(2) Whoever violates subsection (b) hereof is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree.
(ORC 4507.02; 4507.99)
(ORC 4507.02; 4507.99)
(d) Surrender of driver’s license from another state.
(1) Any person who becomes a resident of this state, within 30 days of becoming a resident, shall surrender any driver’s license issued by another state to the Registrar of Motor Vehicles or a deputy registrar. If such a person intends to operate a motor vehicle upon the public roads or highways, the person shall apply for a driver’s license in this state. If the person fails to apply for a driver’s license within 30 days of becoming a resident, the person shall not operate any motor vehicle in this state under a license issued by another state.
(2) A. Whoever violates division (d)(1) of this section is guilty of a minor misdemeanor.
B. The offense established under division (d)(2)A. of this section is a strict liability offense and strict liability is a culpable mental state for purposes of R.C. § 2901.20. The designation of this offense as a strict liability offense shall not be construed to imply that any other offense, for which there is no specified degree of culpability, is not a strict liability offense.
(3) For purposes of division (d)(1) of this section, “resident” means any person to whom any of the following applies:
A. The person maintains their principal residence in this state and does not reside in this state as a result of the person’s active service in the United States armed forces.
B. The person is determined by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to be a resident in accordance with standards adopted by the Registrar under R.C. § 4507.01.
(R.C. § 4507.213)