A.   Election Of Members: There shall be elected at each regular city election, to be held as required by state law, three (3) council members to serve for a term of four (4) years; and at each succeeding general city election, there shall be elected three (3) council members, each to serve a term of four (4) years. At any such election additional council seats may fill as required by state law to fill the remainder of unexpired terms or to meet other election law requirements.
   B.   Designation Of Council Seats:
      1.   Pursuant to subsection A of this section, three (3) council members are to be elected at each biennial election for a term of four (4) years and thus there are six (6) council seats on the city council. Beginning with the city council election in November 2003, each council seat shall be numbered as allowed by Idaho Code section 50-707. The city clerk shall assign the following numbers to each seat: seat 1, seat 2, seat 3, seat 4, seat 5, and seat 6.
      2.   Any candidate seeking election to the city council shall designate the seat he is seeking on his petition for candidacy or upon his filing for candidacy for one, and only one, council seat. The candidate shall meet all other qualifications for the office of city council member, as required by law.
      3.   Commencing at the general city election to be held on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November 2011, seats 1, 3, and 5 shall be the council seats for which city council candidates may file. Commencing at the general city election held in November 2009, seats 2, 4, and 6 shall be elected. Henceforth, the odd numbered council seats and the even numbered council seats shall be elected in alternate general city elections in the same rotation pattern. (Ord. 1144 § 1, 2008)