(A)   There is hereby created a Traffic Safety Advisory Committee composed of seven members who shall be appointed by the City Council.
   (B)   Initial appointment of members shall be by staggered terms: two members to be appointed for one-year terms; two members to be appointed for two-year terms; and three members to be appointed for three-year terms. Thereafter, all members shall serve for a three-year term.
   (C)   (1)   It shall be the duty of the Traffic Safety Advisory Committee to function in an advisory capacity to the City Council and the Director of Public Works. The Committee shall serve the community by planning, conducting, promoting and assisting in activities designed to decrease the number, severity and cost of traffic accidents.
      (2)   Its objectives shall be to prevent adverse traffic conditions in the city and make recommendations to the City Council designed to reduce and eliminate traffic accidents, injuries and deaths resulting therefrom and the best methods which, in its judgment, should be adopted to accomplish such result.
(Ord. 2006-03, passed 7-18-2006)