The Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund shall consist of up to five members. Two members of the Board shall be appointed by the Mayor of the city; two members of the Board shall be elected from the regular police force from the active members thereof. At such time as there are beneficiaries of the Fund, a fifth member shall be elected by and from among the beneficiaries of the Fund.
(1999 Code, § 32.31)