Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(a) (1) In the case of a motor vehicle accident or collision resulting in injury or damage to persons or property on any public or private property other than a public road or highway, the operator of the motor vehicle, having knowledge of the accident or collision, shall stop at the scene of the accident or collision. Upon request of any person who is injured or damaged, or any other person, the operator shall give that person the operator’s name and address, and, if the operator is not the owner, the name and address of the owner of that motor vehicle, together with the registered number of that motor vehicle, and, if available, exhibit the operator’s driver’s or commercial driver’s license.
(2) If the operator of the motor vehicle involved in the accident or collision does not provide the information specified in division (a)(1) of this section, the operator shall give that information, within 24 hours after the accident or collision, to the police department of the city or village in which the accident or collision occurred, or if it occurred outside the corporate limits of a city or village, to the sheriff of the county in which the accident or collision occurred.
(3) If the accident or collision is with an unoccupied or unattended motor vehicle, the operator who collides with the motor vehicle shall securely attach the information required under division (a)(1) of this section, in writing, to a conspicuous place in or on the unoccupied or unattended motor vehicle.
(b) (1) Whoever violates division (a) of this section is guilty of failure to stop after a nonpublic road accident. Except as otherwise provided in division (b)(2) or (b)(3) of this section, failure to stop after a nonpublic road accident is a misdemeanor of the first degree.
(2) If the accident or collision results in serious physical harm to a person, failure to stop after a nonpublic road accident is a felony to be prosecuted under appropriate state law.
(3) If the accident or collision results in the death of a person, failure to stop after a nonpublic road accident is a felony to be prosecuted under appropriate state law.
(4) In all cases, the court, in addition to any other penalties provided by law, shall impose upon the offender a class five suspension of the offender’s driver’s license, commercial driver’s license, temporary instruction permit, probationary license, or nonresident operating privilege from the range specified in Ohio R.C. 4510.02(A)(5). No judge shall suspend the first six months of suspension of an offender’s license, permit, or privilege required by this division.
(5) The offender shall provide the court with proof of financial responsibility as defined in Ohio R.C. 4509.01. If the offender fails to provide that proof of financial responsibility, then, in addition to any other penalties provided by law, the court may order restitution pursuant to Ohio R.C. 2929.18 or 2929.28 in an amount not exceeding five thousand dollars ($5,000) for any economic loss arising from an accident or collision that was the direct and proximate result of the offender’s operation of the motor vehicle before, during, or after committing the offense charged under this section.