The Tree Commission shall be composed of six members, each of whom shall be a resident and qualified elector of the City. Five members shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to the approval of Council. The sixth member shall be appointed by the President of Council and shall be an ex-officio voting member whom also serves as a member of Council. No member of the Commission shall receive, or be entitled to receive, any compensation therefor, except as may otherwise be provided by Council. No ex-officio member of the Commission shall receive, or be entitled to receive, any additional compensation therefor.
   The five members appointed by the Mayor shall be appointed as follows: one for two years, two for three years, and two for four years. Unless the member otherwise vacates or is vacated from the office, members shall serve until their successors are duly appointed and approved by Council. Successors to those members appointed by the Mayor thereafter shall be appointed for terms of four years. The sixth member (Council person) shall serve until removed or replaced by the Council President. Vacancies caused by death, resignation or otherwise shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as original appointments are made.
   A term shall be defined as a full term in years as provided in this section. Any member of the City Tree Commission that is found to have three unexcused absences during the calendar year may be removed by the respective appointing authority without right to review. Authorized absences are predicated upon the permission of the chairperson reflected in the minutes. Further, the respective appointing authority may at any time remove any member from the Commission for misconduct, neglect of duty or malfeasance in office, or other cause, without right of review. Members removed by an appointing authority require approval by a majority vote of those current members of Council. (Ord. 92-01. Passed 8-6-01.)