The Planning Commission shall consist of seven (7) members who shall be residents of the City appointed by Council to serve for four (4) year staggered terms commencing February 1 in the appropriate year of appointment. Vacancies to the Commission shall be filled by Council for the unexpired term in the manner in which original appointments were made.
   The Planning Commission shall have such powers and duties as are provided by the general laws of Ohio and the ordinances of the City of Montgomery.
   Any ordinance before the Council which would enact, amend or repeal any zoning ordinance or provision thereof shall not be acted upon by the Council until the Planning Commission has reviewed and issued to Council its written recommendation and the reasons therefore. Action by Council contrary to such Planning Commission recommendation shall require the affirmative vote of at least five (5) members of Council. Action to accept such recommendation requires a simple majority.
   Planning Commission shall hold regularly scheduled meetings at announced times. The quorum shall be four (4) members. At its first meeting each February it shall organize, selecting its Chairman and Vice Chairman. The Commission shall establish its own Rules of Procedure and it shall keep a record of its proceedings in all matters before it.
   With the adoption of these amendments to the Charter in the year 2002, all current Commissioner's offices shall be extended from December 31 of the year the term is scheduled to end until January 31 of the following year to extend the current offices to meet the amended schedule of appointments.