The legislative powers of the City except as otherwise provided by this Charter and by the Constitution of the State of Ohio shall be vested in a Council of seven members. All members shall be elected from the City at large. The members of Council shall be elected for overlapping terms of four years. The elected members of Council shall take office on the first Wednesday of December of the year in which they are elected. If a person elected to Council for any reason is not seated within forty-five (45) days after commencement of his term of office, his office shall be forfeited and the vacancy shall be filled in the manner provided in Section 3.09 of this Charter.