There is hereby created a Commission to be known as the "Historic Preservation Commission".
   (A)   The Commission shall consist of five members, to be appointed by the City Council, to the extent available among the residents of the community. Possible representatives include: an architect, planner, representative of design profession, historian, licensed real estate broker, attorney and an owner of a landmark or of a property in a historic district.
   (B)   All Commission members, regardless of background, shall have a known and demonstrated interest, competence or knowledge in historic preservation within the city.
   (C)   The Commission should generally reflect the ethnic makeup of the city, when possible.
   (D)   Commission members shall serve for a term of at least two years, with the exception that the initial term of three members shall be three years, and two members shall be two years (to achieve a staggered term).
   (E)   The Chair and the Vice Chair of the Commission may be elected by and from the members of the Commission.
   (F)   The Commission shall be empowered to:
      (1)   Make recommendations for employment of staff and professional consultants as necessary to carry out the duties of the Commission;
      (2)   Prepare rules and procedures as necessary to carry out the business of the Commission, as ratified by the City Council;
      (3)   Adopt criteria for the designation of historic, architectural and cultural landmarks and the delineation of historic districts, as ratified by the City Council;
      (4)   Conduct surveys and maintain an inventory of significant historic, architectural and cultural landmarks and all properties located in historic districts within the city;
      (5)   Recommend the designation of resources as landmarks and historic districts;
      (6)   Create committees from its membership and delegate to these committees responsibilities to carry out the purposes of this chapter;
      (7)   Maintain written minutes which record all actions taken by the Commission and the reasons for taking those actions;
      (8)   Recommend conferral of recognition upon the owners of landmarks or properties within districts by means of certificates, plaques or markers;
      (9)   Increase public awareness of the value of historic, cultural and architectural preservation by developing and participating in public education programs;
      (10)   Make recommendations to the city government concerning the utilization of state, federal or private funds to promote the preservation of landmarks and historic districts within the city;
      (11)   Approve or disapprove applications for certificates of appropriateness pursuant to this chapter;
      (12)   Prepare and submit to the City Council a report, annually in October, summarizing the Commission's work during the previous year;
      (13)   Prepare specific design guidelines for possible landmarks and districts; and
      (14)   Accept on behalf of the city government the donation of preservation easements and development rights as well as any other gift of value for the purpose of historic preservation, subject to the approval of the City Council.
   (G)   The Commission shall meet at least monthly. Special meetings may be called at any time by the Chairperson or on the written request of any two Commission members. All meetings shall be held in conformance with the State Open Meetings Act, Tex. Gov’t Code, Ch. 551.
   (H)   A quorum for the transaction of business shall consist of not less than a majority of the full authorized membership.
(Ord. 08-341, passed 1-22-2008; Ord. 2023-01-05-02, passed 1-5-2023)
   Boards, commissions and committees, see Ch. 35