(a)   The mayor shall appoint the members of the standing committees of the board of aldermen and school committee and shall choose the chair for each committee.
   (b)   The mayor shall appoint, based upon merit and due consideration of qualifications, all department heads, except the city officers as listed in Section 3.07, and the board of aldermen shall confirm the appointment by a vote of eight (8) aldermen.
   (c)   The mayor shall nominate members of boards, commissions and authorities unless such power is granted to someone other than the mayor by state law or this charter. All such appointments shall be made pursuant to the provisions established in Article III, Sections 3.11.