Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(A) Every person desiring to obtain a license for an arcade shall file a license application with the City Clerk on forms to be determined by the City Clerk, together with an application fee of $300. The application fee shall be the fee for the initial license. The license shall expire on April 30 next following its issuance and the applicant shall annually on or before May 1, obtain a new arcade license from the City Clerk and pay a business license fee of $300.
(1) The application shall include the following:
(a) The applicant's name, residence, occupation and date of birth;
(b) A complete criminal record of the applicant obtained from the Criminal Records Division, Department of Safety, State of New Hampshire, and/or from the appropriate out-of-state agency or agencies if the applicant has been a resident of another state prior to establishing residence in New Hampshire;
(c) The location of premises to be used; and
(d) A scale drawing of the premises showing proposed or actual locations of the amusement devices.
(2) In the case when the applicant is a corporation authorized to do business in this state, the application shall be made by the agent of such corporation who will have principal charge of the premises, and such application shall contain all the information of such agent as is required of individuals. In case the applicant is a partnership, each active partner shall join in the application for such license, and shall furnish all of the information required of an individual.
(3) In the event there is any change in management, the agent or the proprietor during the term of the license, the City Clerk shall immediately be notified. This notification shall contain the same information required on an application for license and shall be subject to investigation by the office of the City Clerk, the Chief of Police or his designee.
(B) No applicant for an arcade license shall be issued a license for a location within 1,000 feet of any hospital, nursing home, day care center, private educational institution, public educational institution, or group home. Distance shall be measured from front door to front door.
(C) Prior to any arcade license being issued, the premises may be inspected by the appropriate departments of the city to ensure that the premises are in compliance with all applicable statutes, ordinances, codes, and regulations of the state and the city. The license shall not be unreasonably withheld.
(D) A license issued for an arcade shall be conspicuously posted and maintained in a place where it is clearly visible to the general public and/or patrons of the premises where the amusement devices are in operation through the license period.
(E) (1) When it is determined after investigation by the Chief of Police to be necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens the city, each arcade shall be required to hire an off-duty police officer during the hours of 8:00 p.m. to closing.
(2) Each arcade that is required to hire an off-duty police officer may, after six months of such requirement, request the Chief of Police to determine the necessity of such requirement. The Chief of Police may suspend the requirement after investigation as he deems appropriate. This requirement may be reinstated following receipt of complaints and investigation by the Chief of Police.
(Ord. passed 3-7-95) Penalty, see § 111.99