All other administrative departments in existence at the time of adoption of this Charter, shall continue until otherwise provided by the Council, and all administrative boards in charge of any administrative department of the City shall continue in office and their successors shall be appointed by the Mayor, excepting as other provisions are made in this Charter, or may hereafter be made by the Council.
   Excepting the officers, boards, commissions and departments specially mentioned  and provided for in this Charter, the Council shall have power to establish, create, combine, or abolish offices, boards, departments or divisions when in its opinion the proper administration of the business of the City so requires.