Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(A) Any person violating any of the provisions or failing to comply with any of the mandatory requirements of this chapter is guilty of an ordinance violation and shall be subject to a written citation. Except in such cases where different or additional punishment is prescribed in this chapter or by any ordinance of LaPorte County or by Indiana statute, any person found violating this chapter shall be punished by a fine as set forth below:
First offense, minimum fine
$50.00 per violation
First offense, fines not to exceed
Second or subsequent offense
$100.00 per violation
Second or subsequent offense, fines not to exceed
(B) In the event that an ordinance of LaPorte County or Indiana state laws, rules or regulations shall prescribe a penalty different or in addition to that prescribed by this chapter, the provisions of such other ordinances, laws, rules or regulations of LaPorte County or the State shall control.
(C) Any person violating any of the provisions of, or failing to comply with any of the requirements of this chapter, is in violation of a separate offense for each violation. If any violation is continuing, each day's violation shall be deemed as a separate violation.
(D) The county may bring a civil action to enjoin any person from engaging in conduct without license as required under the terms and conditions of this chapter or for any other violation of the terms of this chapter.
(E) Upon the failure of any person who violates any provision of this chapter to pay the penalty as provided herein, a court hearing will be held on the date indicated on each written citation, and the court shall have the power to enter a civil judgment according to the provisions of this chapter and applicable Indiana law, including court costs.
(Ord. 2019-8, passed 3-20-19)