The Planning Commission shall consist of seven members who reside in the City of Lake Angelus and who shall represent, insofar as is possible, different professions and occupations, one of whom shall be a member of the City Council, to be selected by resolution of the City Council to serve as a member ex officio with full voting rights, and six of whom shall be appointed by the Mayor as provided in this section.  An appointment by the Mayor shall be subject to approval of the City Council by majority vote. An appointed member shall not hold another Municipal office, except that one appointed member may be a member of the Zoning Board of Appeals.  The term of the ex officio member shall be determined by the City Council and shall be stated in the resolution selecting the ex officio member, but the term shall not exceed the member's term of office as a member of the City Council.  The term of each appointed member shall be three years or until his or her successor takes office, except that the respective terms of two of the members first appointed shall be for one year and two for two years.  After a public hearing, a member other than the member selected by the City Council may be removed by the Mayor for inefficiency, neglect of duty or malfeasance in office.  The City Council may for like cause remove the member selected by the City Council.
(Ord. 82.  Passed 12–8–97.)