§ 50.04  WATER METER.
   (A)   Purpose. The purpose of this section is to establish requirements for connecting to the town's water and/or sanitary sewer systems.
   (B)   Administration. This section shall be administered by the Department of Utilities.
   (C)   Connection required. Where service is available, unless otherwise exempt by law, the owner of every lot or parcel of land within the town shall connect or cause the plumbing of any building or buildings thereon to be connected with the town's water and/or sanitary system and use the facilities of such system. All such connections shall be made in accordance to the rules and regulations which shall be adopted from time to time by the Town Council.
   (D)   Each residential unit whether occupying one or more lots and whether it shall occupy any lot or parcel jointly with any other residential unit, up to a total of four residential units, shall be considered a separate unit for payment of water and sanitary sewer fees and charges and separate connections for water and sanitary sewer shall be required for each unit. Multi-residential structures with more than four residential units may be considered at the discretion of the Board to be non-residential for meeting and billing purposes and to have a master meter servicing all units in the building.
   (E)   Cross-connection. It shall be unlawful for any person to connect or cause to be connected to the town's water pipes, by any means whatsoever, other pipes containing water from any water supply, other than the potable water supply of the town.
   (F)   Backflow prevention. Each structure connected to the town’s water line shall have a backflow prevention assembly installed in accordance with department specifications, inspection and approval.
   (G)   Unlawful connections. It shall be unlawful for any person to make any connection to the town’s water and/or sanitary sewer systems without the authority from the town.
   (H)   All necessary meters will be furnished by the town and shall remain the property of the town.
(Ord. 2015-12-2, passed 12-14-2015)