The municipal corporation now existing in the County of Portage and State of Ohio and known as the City of Kent shall continue to be a body politic and corporate in perpetuity under the name of the "City of Kent". The City shall have the same boundaries that exist on the effective date of this Charter, with power and authority to change its boundaries and annex other territory contiguous thereto in the manner authorized by the laws of Ohio.