The commission shall consist of nine (9) members, appointed by vote of the city council. Appointees shall serve for a term of three (3) years and thereafter until a successor has been appointed. Vacancies shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term. Appointments shall take into consideration persons of the various racial, religious, cultural, social and economic groups in the city. (Ord. 94-3647, 11-8-1994; amd. Ord. 16-4678, 10-4-2016)