The Planning Commission shall consist of seven (7) members, one (1) ex-officio members and six (6) appointed members. All members shall have full voting rights. The ex-officio members shall be the Mayor, one (1) member from the City Council selected by the City Council. The six (6) appointed members shall be appointed by the Mayor and shall represent, insofar as is possible, different professions or occupations and be representative of important segments of the community, such as the economic, governmental, educational, and social development of the city. Persons appointed to the Planning Commission shall be qualified electors of the city, except that one (1) member may be a non-qualified elector who resides outside the municipal boundaries of the city. An employee of the city shall not be eligible to serve as a member of the Planning Commission.. Such appointments shall be subject to approval by a majority vote of the members of the City Council. All members of the Planning Commission shall serve as such without compensation. The term of the ex-officio members shall correspond to their respective official tenure. The term of each appointed member shall be three years or until a successor takes office. Vacancies occurring otherwise than through the expiration of term shall be filled for the unexpired term by the Mayor, subject to the approval by a majority of the members of the City Council.
(1975 Code § 5.242) (Ord. 432. Passed 3-8-06; Ord. 467. Passed 8-4-09.)