The city planning commission is hereby established with the powers and duties given it by this chapter. The planning commission shall consist of nine (9) members appointed by the council. The membership shall be comprised of those persons currently in office. The term of office of current members shall be according to conditions under which they were originally appointed. As each term expires, the new term shall be for three (3) years. Three (3) terms expire in 1977, three (3) in 1978 and three (3) in 1979. The anniversary date of all appointments shall be June 1. (Ord. 1090, 5-24-2004)