This section describes the basic organizational scheme used in this title and the types of regulations found herein. It is intended to be informational only. Failure to follow the format described in this section shall not be a basis for invalidating any action taken pursuant to this title.
   A.   Organizational Structure: This title consists of six (6) divisions, as follows:
      1.   Division 1 - General Provisions.
      2.   Division 2 - Administration And Enforcement.
      3.   Division 3 - Base Zones.
      4.   Division 4 - Special Purpose And Overlay Zones.
      5.   Division 5 - Regulations Of General Applicability.
      6.   Division 6 - Regulations For Specific Uses.
   B.   General Provisions: The general provisions of division 1 of this title establish how this title is applied; describe how planning documents, such as the general plan, relate to this title; and provide rules and definitions for interpreting and applying the provisions of this title.
   C.   Administration And Enforcement: Administration and enforcement provisions in division 2 of this title describe the powers and duties of decision making bodies and officials, public hearing and land use application review procedures, appeals, and variances. Enforcement provisions set forth remedies available to the city to enforce violations of this title.
   D.   Types Of Zones: This title establishes three (3) types of zones (also called "zoning districts"): base zones, special purpose zones, and overlay zones.
      1.   Base zones establish regulations and development standards governing land uses allowed in each zone. Base zones are grouped into five (5) general categories: agricultural, residential, commercial, business and industrial, and open space and public facilities.
      2.   Special purpose zones consist of regulations that apply only in limited instances or to special circumstances.
      3.   Overlay zones address specific circumstances that apply to specific geographic areas and which may traverse the boundaries of a number of base zones. Overlay zone regulations apply in addition to base zone regulations.
   E.   Types Of Regulations: This title includes the following kinds of regulations and development standards:
      1.   Base zone regulations, set forth in division 3 of this title, specify land uses allowed as of right or allowed after issuance of a conditional use permit. These regulations may be modified by overlay or special purpose zone regulations, set forth in division 4 of this title, or augmented by regulations for specific uses set forth in division 6 of this title. Base zone and overlay regulations are further augmented by regulations of general applicability set forth in division 5 of this title.
      2.   Development standards include fixed dimensional standards and performance standards. Development standards control the height, size, location and other particular aspects of structures and uses on sites intended for development. These standards also prescribe setback and buffering requirements between zones and between potentially incompatible uses. Fixed dimensional standards are numerical maximum or minimum conditions which govern development on a site. Performance standards establish certain criteria which must be met, but allow flexibility as to the method of meeting the standard. (Ord. 03-5-1, 5-1-2003, eff. 6-1-2003)