There is hereby created a Civil Service Commission which shall consist of three (3) electors of the Municipality, not holding other Municipal office or appointment, to be appointed by the Mayor, with the concurrence of a majority of the members of Council, for terms of six (6) years each, except that of the three (3) appointed for the term beginning January 1, 1967, one (1) shall be appointed for a term of two (2) years, one (1) for a term of four (4) years, and one (1) for a term of six (6) years. A vacancy occurring during the term of any member of the Civil Service Commission shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner authorized for an original appointment.
   The Commission shall designate one (1) of its members as Chairman and may appoint a Secretary who need not be a member of the Commission and may hold other municipal office or appointment.