(A)   The Planning Commission shall consist of seven members from the resident population of the city to be appointed by the City Council. The appointees shall be appointed to serve staggered terms of three years, except as noted below, commencing on the first day of January in the year of appointment. Upon expiration of a term, the appointee shall continue until reappointed or a successor is appointed. Absences from any three meetings in a year, unless excused in advance by the Chair, constitutes a vacancy. In the event of any vacancy, the City Council, shall appoint a person to complete the unexpired term.
   (B)   One member may be a Council Member or the City Clerk, to be appointed by the City Council. This member shall serve for a one year term, to expire on December 31 of each year.
   (C)   Other persons may serve in an ex officio capacity as the City Council may, in its discretion, deem appropriate.
   (D)   Each of the regular Planning Commission members shall have equal voting privileges. Any member may be removed for cause by majority vote of the City Council upon written charge and after a public hearing.