The area of the City shall be divided into five (5) wards, to be numbered from one to four inclusive. The Council shall divide the City into the five (5) wards by ordinance and in 1992 and every ten (10) years thereafter, Council shall review, and if there is a difference in population between the largest ward and the smallest ward of forty percent (40%) or greater, Council shall redistrict the wards to five (5) wards within twenty percent (20%) of equality as to population.
   Territory annexed to the City may be added to one or more of the five (5) wards by ordinance; in such a manner as to include within each ward a substantially equal number of registered voters. (Amended 11-2-82; 11-7-17)