Section 4.2.  City council composition and power.
   There shall be a city council consisting of four councilmen and the mayor who shall be deemed a member of the council for all purposes.  The council shall constitute the legislative and governing body of the city and shall have the power and authority to adopt such ordinances and resolutions as it shall deem proper in the exercise of its powers.  The word "council" when used in this Charter shall be synonymous with the word "commission" or any other term used in any state or federal law in referring to a municipal legislative or governing body.