Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(A) No person shall engage in the business or profession of massage therapy unless the person shall have first applied for and received a privilege license as required by this section.
(B) Applicants must provide the Tax Collector with a copy of their North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy state license. This requirement shall apply to all applicants, and no individual seeking to practice massage therapy in the town shall be exempted therefrom except as expressly provided in § 115.03.
(C) The application for the license required by this section shall be upon a form approved by the town and shall be filed with the Tax Collector for the town. The application shall be given under oath and shall contain the following information:
(1) The name, age and residence address of the applicants;
(2) The North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy state license number, effective and expiration date;
(3) A complete statement of the previous businesses or occupations of the applicant for the 2 years immediately preceding the date of the application;
(4) The date and place of the applicant’s birth and the residence address or addresses of the applicant for the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application;
(5) A complete statement of all convictions of the applicant for any felonies and any offense involving sexual misconduct, whether for this jurisdiction or any other, including G.S. §§ 14-177 through 14-199, and G.S. §§ 14-203 through 14-208, or any federal statute relating to prostitution, or of any governmental unit concerning or related to the business or profession of massage; and
G.S. §§ 14-204.1,14-205, 14-207, and 14-208 have been repealed. New §§ 14205.1 through 14-205.4 have been enacted.
(6) A complete statement of any revocation of any license granted by any governmental unit to the applicant to engage in the business or profession of massage therapy.
(D) Upon payment of the application fee, as set out in § 115.09, and upon submission of all the information required by the application under this chapter, the Tax Collector shall transmit a copy of the application to the Police Department for an investigative report. The Police Department shall report the results of the investigation within a reasonable time, not to exceed 30 days. A license shall be granted immediately if all requirements described in this chapter are met, unless it appears that any applicant is under the age of 18 years, has deliberately falsified the application, has had a previously issued license to engage in the business or profession of massage revoked, or the record of the applicant reveals a conviction as set out in division (C)(5) of this section.
(E) It shall be unlawful for anyone to perform massage therapy upon a person under the age of 18 years unless consent therefor has been given by the person’s parent, guardian or custodian.
Penalty, see § 115.99