Council shall by ordinance provide for and establish a Civil Service Commission and a civil service system. The Commission shall consist of three (3) electors of the Municipality not holding other office in the Municipality to be appointed for terms of six (6) years, or removed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five (5) or more members of Council.
   All members of the Commission shall serve without compensation unless otherwise provided by ordinance of Council.
   A vacancy occurring during the term of any member shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner authorized for an original appointment.