At the election to be held in November, 1999, the Council shall consist of seven (7) members, one elected at large, and six (6) each from separate wards for terms of four (4) years, beginning on the first day of January, following their election, provided, however, that: Commencing on January 1, 2000, and as determined by the election in November, 1999, the candidates for Council from Wards 1, 3 and 5 shall be elected for a two (2)-year term, and the candidates for Wards 2, 4 and 6 and the Councilman-at-Large shall be elected for a four (4)-year term. Upon the completion of the two (2)-year terms for candidates from Wards 1, 3 and 5, the term shall therefor be four (4) years, so as to create staggered four (4)-year Council terms and elections. Ward candidates must reside in the ward they seek to represent.
   Beginning on March 1, 1979, and each six (6) years thereafter, a districting commission consisting of the Mayor, the Director of Finance and the President of Council shall certify to the Summit County Board of Elections the boundaries for six (6) wards within the City or the changes in boundaries for said wards.
   Each ward shall be formed of compact, contiguous territory and shall contain as nearly as possible the same number of qualified electors, determined from the registration for the last available statewide General Election, but wards shall not differ by more than twenty (20) percent from the number of electors in the smallest ward. The wards shall be designated from Ward 1 to Ward 6.
(Amended November 7, 1978; November 3, 1998)