(a)   Appointment of Members. Membership of the Planning Commission is hereby established and limited to a body comprised of five members to be appointed by the Village President subject to approval by a majority vote of Council. The Village President, one or more trustees or any combination thereof may be appointed to the Planning Commission as ex officio members. However, not more than one-third of the members of the Planning Commission may be ex officio members. The membership shall be representative of important segments of the community (agriculture, education, commerce, etc.) and the entire geography of the Village to the extent practicable. All shall be qualified electors of the Village except as provided under the Act and at the discretion of the Council.
   (b)   Terms of Office. Members shall be appointed for three-year terms except that the term for an elected official shall correspond with his or her term on the legislative body. If a vacancy occurs, the vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as provided for an original appointment. A member shall hold office until his or her successor is appointed. Members shall be compensated as described in the bylaws.
   (c)   Removal from Office. The Village Council may remove a member of the Planning Commission for misfeasance, malfeasance or nonfeasance in office upon written charges and after a public hearing.
(Res. Unno. Passed 10-13-97; Ord. 2009-5. Passed 11-9-09.)