(A)   (1)   It has come to the attention of the Board of Commissioners that certain offices within the county government have consistently received checks from the public and citizenry which are returned as non-negotiable for various and sundry reasons.
      (2)   As a result of the necessary process of notifying the issuer of the checks, the county has incurred expenses, both in personnel time spent, postage for certified mailings and loss of use of the money by the county for whichever fund the check was intended.
   (B)   The Board of Commissioners now establish by this section a $20 service fee, which shall be charged to the individual(s) or entity or legally responsible person who issues a check which is returned to any department or office in the county, including, but not limited to, the office of the County Treasurer, the Clerk of the County Circuit and Superior Courts, the County Recorder’s Office, the Office of the County Prosecutor, the county airport, the County Highway Department or the county landfill.
   (C)   Each department head, office holder or his or her designee or the individual in charge of the office or department shall collect the late fee from the issuer of the check which was returned and shall note the receipt of the late payment by the appropriate receipt, placing those funds in the appropriate account of that office or department.
   (D)   Any office or department who receives a check which is returned has the authority to refuse any further checks from the person or entity who issues a check which is returned as non-negotiable for whatever reason, the refusal to be at the discretion of the officeholder, department head or individual in charge of that office.
(Ord. 93-2, passed 2-22-1993)