10.28.101: COMPULSORY VEHICLE INSURANCE:
   A.   Insurance Required; Owner: No owner of a motor vehicle required to be registered in this State shall operate a vehicle or permit it to be operated on the streets and highways when the owner has failed to have a complying policy or certificate of self-insurance in force and effect as required by title 10, article 4 of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
   B.   Insurance Required; Operator: No person shall operate any motor vehicle on the streets and highways of this Municipality without a complying policy or certificate of self-insurance in full force and effect as required by title 10, article 4 of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
   C.   Present Evidence When Requested: When requested to do so following any lawful traffic contact or during any traffic investigation by a police officer, no owner or operator of a motor vehicle shall fail to present to the requesting officer immediate evidence of a complying policy or certificate of self- insurance in full force and effect as required by title 10, article 4 of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
   D.   Failure To Present Evidence: Testimony of the failure of any owner or operator of a motor vehicle to present immediate evidence of a complying policy or certificate of self-insurance in full force and effect as required by title 10, article 4 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, when requested to do so by a police officer, shall constitute prima facie evidence, at a trial concerning a violation charge under subsection A, B or C of this section, that the owner or operator of a motor vehicle violated subsection A, B or C of this section.
   E.   Penalty:
      1.   As determined by the court, upon conviction for a first offense for violating subsection A, B, or C of this section, and with no previous convictions under Colorado Revised Statutes section 42-4-1409 during the previous two (2) years, the court shall impose a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00).
      2.   Upon a second or subsequent conviction under this section within a period of two (2) years following a prior conviction under this section or under Colorado Revised Statutes section 42-4-1409, the court shall impose a fine of not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00).
      3.   No person charged with violating subsection A, B or C of this section shall be convicted if the person produces in court a bona fide complying policy or certificate of self-insurance which was in full force and effect, as required by title 10, article 4 of the Colorado Revised Statutes at the time of the alleged violation. (Ord. 95-169; Ord. 00-61; Ord. 01-42; Ord. 08-47; Ord. 13-70; Ord. 14-70)