There is hereby created a plan commission for the city which shall consist of six (6) members; seven (7) including the mayor, to include the following:
   A.   Mayor: The mayor shall be ex officio member of said plan commission, with power to vote.
   B.   Appointment: Six (6) other members; citizens of the city, appointed by the mayor, on the basis of their particular fitness for their duty on said plan commission, and subject to the approval of the council. (1997 Code)