The Planning Commission shall consist of the Manager as ex officio member without voting power and five (5) electors appointed by Council to serve without compensation for terms of five (5) years, except that the electors first appointed shall serve terms of one (1), two (2), three (3), four (4) and five (5) years, respectively: thereafter appointments shall be for five (5) year terms. Council, by a majority vote of its members, shall choose a successor to fill any vacancy.