The administration officials of the City shall be the City Manager, City Clerk, City Attorney, City Assessor, City Treasurer, Police Chief, and Fire Chief.  The Council may create, combine, separate, or abolish administrative offices in any manner not inconsistent with law or this Charter, and shall prescribe the duties thereof, in order to insure the proper operation of the City government.  No action of the City Council, however, shall abolish the office of the City Manager nor diminish any of the powers of that office as set forth in this Charter.  Except as otherwise herein provided, the qualifications, duties and compensation of City officers shall be determined by the City Council.