Skip to code content (skip section selection)
Compare to:
Sec. 2-171. Planning and zoning board.
New Ordinance Notice:
Publisher's Note: Section 2-171 has been amended by Ord. 2021-CODE-02, approved 6-24-2021, effective 6-25-2021.
   (a)   Membership. The planning and zoning board shall consist of nine members. Eight members shall be appointed by the town council and shall reside within the corporate boundaries of the town. The other member shall reside outside the corporate boundaries of the town but within the town's extraterritorial planning jurisdiction and be recommended by the town council for appointment by the county board of commissioners. All members shall have equal rights, privileges, and duties regardless of whether the matter at issue arises within or outside of the town's corporate boundaries.
   (b)   Alternate member. The town council may, in its discretion, appoint an alternate member from within the corporate boundaries of the town to serve on the planning and zoning board in the absence or temporary disqualification of any regular member or to fill a vacancy pending appointment of a member. The alternate member shall be appointed for the same term, at the same time, and in the same manner as regular members. The alternate member, while attending any regular or special meeting of the board and serving on behalf of any regular member, shall have and may exercise all the powers and duties of a regular member.
   (c)   Officers. The town council shall appoint one of the planning and zoning board members to serve as the chair of the planning and zoning board.
   (d)   Amending section. Amendments to this Section 2-171 shall be in accordance with the procedures set forth in N.C.G.S. § 160A-364.
(Code 1982, § 2-6; Ord. No. 03-006, 5-22-2003; Ord. No. 06-006, 3-23-2006; Ord. No. 07-002, 2-8-2007; Ord. No. 2008-Code-06, 10-30-2008; Ord. No. 2009-Code-11, 10-8-2009; Ord. No. 2012-Code-05, 9-6-2012)
   State law reference(s)—Planning board authorized, G.S. 160A-361.