Skip to code content (skip section selection)
Compare to:
Section 3.5.  General procedure.
   A majority of the members of the Town Council shall constitute a quorum. Its meetings shall be public, and the Mayor, who shall be the official head of the Town, shall, if present, preside and shall have the same power as the other members of the Council to vote upon all measures coming before it, but shall have no power of veto. In the absence of the Mayor, the Mayor Pro Tempore of the Council shall preside, and in the absence of both, a Chair Pro Tempore shall be chosen. The Town Clerk shall be ex officio Clerk of the Town Council, and shall keep records of its proceedings; but in case of the Clerk's temporary absence, or in case of a vacancy in the office, the Town Council may elect by ballot a temporary Clerk, who shall be sworn to the faithful discharge of his duties and may act as Clerk of the Town Council until a Town Clerk is chosen and qualified. On request of one member, the vote shall be yeas, and nays, and shall be entered upon the records.
(N.C.S.L. Ch. 2005-117, § 1(3.5))