The administrative functions of the city shall be carried on by a department of finance, a department of law, a department of safety, a department of public works, a department of utilities, and such other departments as may be created by ordinance after consultation with the mayor.
   Except for the purpose of inquiry or investigation council and its members shall deal with the administrative service only through the office of the mayor.