§ 121.06 LICENSE CLASSIFICATIONS, FEES, NUMBERS.
   (A)   Generally. Such license shall be divided into the following classes:
      (1)   (a)   Class “A-1”, which shall permit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on or off the premises where sold and not for resale in any form. The annual fee for such license shall be $650; provided, however, that such fee shall increase to $700, effective April 1, 2019. No Class “A-1” license shall be issued except to a licensee who actually sells at retail alcoholic liquor for consumption both on and off the premises where sold;
         (b)   Class "A-2", which shall permit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption only on the premises where sold and not for resale in any form. The annual fee for such license shall be $650; provided, however, that such fee shall increase to $700, effective April 1, 2019. No Class "A-l" license shall be issued except to a licensee who actually sells at retail alcoholic liquor for consumption both on and off the premises where sold;
         (c)   The total number of Class "A-l" and Class "A-2" licenses shall not exceed 53, collectively.
      (2)   (a)   Class “B”, which shall permit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises of restaurants, but not for consumption off the premises of restaurants and not for resale in any form. For the purpose of this Class “B” license, a RESTAURANT is defined to mean a public place kept, used, maintained, advertised and held out to the public, where meals are served and where meals actually are served and regularly served, without sleeping accommodations; such space being provided with adequate and sanitary kitchen and dining room equipment and capacity and having employed therein a sufficient number and kind of employees to prepare, cook and serve suitable foods for its guests; it is further provided that a restaurant as herein defined shall mean an establishment which derives more than 50% of its gross sales from the sale of food. The annual fee for such license shall be $650; provided, however, that such fee shall increase to $700, effective April 1, 2019. There shall be no limit on the number of Class “B” licenses; and
         (b)   At any time during the license period or prior to the renewal of a Class “B” license, the Mayor may order the licensee to produce his or her accounting records to determine if the licensee is qualified to hold a Class “B” liquor license. The failure of the licensee to produce said records for the Mayor upon request, shall result in the automatic revocation of a Class “B” liquor license.
      (3)   Class “C”, which shall only permit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor in sealed packages, but not for consumption on the premises of where it is sold; provided that single-serving containers of alcoholic beverages in a volume of 40 fluid ounces or less shall only be cooled/chilled in an electrical refrigeration unit and shall not be displayed for sale at the cashier/check-out counter. The annual fee for such license shall be $800. The total number of Class “C” licenses shall not exceed 50. The holder of a Class “C” liquor license shall not conduct video gaming under the Illinois Video Gaming Act (230 ILCS 40/1 et seq.) provided, however, that, notwithstanding the foregoing, a bus/truck stop as defined in § 118.16 may conduct video gaming under the Illinois Video Gaming Act (230 ILCS 40/1 et seq.);
      (4)   Class “D”, which shall permit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption only on the premises where sold to be issued to a regularly organized club, such sales to be made only to the members and guests of the club, whether year-round or intermittent/seasonal. For the purposes of this chapter, a CLUB is defined to mean a corporation organized under the laws of this state, not for pecuniary profit, solely for the promotion of some common object other than the sale and consumption of alcoholic liquors. The annual fee for such license shall be $400. There shall be no limit on the number of Class “D” licenses. No Class “D” license shall be issued until the Local Liquor Control Commissioner has satisfied himself or herself that the club applying for the license was actually and in fact, organized for some purpose or object other than the sale or consumption of alcoholic liquor;
      (5)   Class “E”, which shall permit the sale or dealing at retail in alcoholic liquor by a religious organization or a not-for-profit organization that does business only intermittently. The annual fee for such license shall be $100. There shall be no limit on the number of Class “E” licenses; and
      (6)   (a)   Class “F-1”, which shall permit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on or off premises opened only periodically for the express purpose of providing accommodations for weddings, parties, bingo and other such special events. The annual fee for such license shall be $500.
         (b)   Class "F-2", which shall permit the retail sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption only on premises opened only periodically for the express purpose of providing accommodations for weddings, parties, bingo and other such special events. The annual fee for such license shall be $400.
         (c)   There shall be no limit on the number of Class “F” licenses.
   (B)   License classifications, fees and numbers.
      (1)   All licenses expire on May 1 of each year. License fees are payable in full, in advance, to the Local Liquor Control Commissioner.
      (2)   It shall be unlawful to keep open for business or to admit the public to or permit the public to remain within or to permit the consumption of alcoholic liquor in or upon any premises in which alcoholic liquor is sold at retail during the hours in which the sale of such liquor is prohibited; provided, that where separate defined areas are used for dispensing of food stuffs and alcoholic beverages during the hours designated herein, such specified areas may continue to dispense food stuffs after its authorized closing hour as set forth herein, but shall in no way dispense alcoholic beverages after its authorized closing hour as set forth herein or allow consumption of alcoholic beverages after its authorized closing hour as set forth herein.
(1960 Code, § 21-1-8) (Ord. 5021, passed 1-4-1993; Ord. 5521, passed 3-4-1996; Ord. 7089, passed 3-17-2008; Ord. 6853, passed 4-3-2006; Ord. 7886, passed 8-17-2015; Ord. 7911, passed 11-16-2015; Ord. 8010-2017, passed 2-6-2017; Ord. 8176-2018, passed 3-19-2018; Ord. 8311-2019, passed 3-18-2019; Ord. 8938-2021, passed 4-19-2021) Penalty, see § 121.99