There is hereby established a City Planning Commission, with seven members consisting of the Mayor, the Director of Service and Safety, the President of the Board of Park Commissioners, and four residents of the City, who shall serve without compensation and who shall be appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of Council, for terms of six years each, except that the term of two of the members of the first Commission shall be for three years.