The following administrative departments are hereby established; Department of Law, Department of Finance, Department of Public Safety, Department of Public Service and Department of Parks and Recreation.  Council shall determine and prescribe the functions and duties of each department, by ordinance provide for the organization thereof, and, by vote of five members may create new departments, combine or abolish existing departments, and establish temporary departments for special work.