Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(A) In addition to any rules or regulations promulgated by the Ohio Director of Public Safety pursuant to Ohio R.C. 4519.20 and Ohio R.C. Ch. 119, equipment of snowmobiles, off-highway motorcycles, and all- purpose vehicles shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, requirements for the following items of equipment:
(1) At least one headlight having a minimum candlepower of sufficient intensity to reveal persons and objects at a distance of at least 100 feet ahead under normal atmospheric conditions during hours of darkness;
(2) At least one red tail light having a minimum candlepower of sufficient intensity to be plainly visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear under normal atmospheric conditions during hours of darkness;
(3) Every snowmobile, while traveling on packed snow, shall be capable of carrying a driver who weighs 175 pounds or more, and, while carrying such driver, be capable of stopping in no more than 40 feet from an initial steady speed of 20 miles per hour, or locking its traction belt; and
(4) A muffler system capable of precluding the emission of excessive smoke or exhaust fumes, and of limiting the engine noise of vehicles. On snowmobiles manufactured after 1-1-1973, such requirement shall include sound dampening equipment such that noise does not exceed 82 decibels on the “A” scale at 50 feet as measured according to SAE J192 (September 1970).
(B) No person shall operate any snowmobile, off-highway motorcycle, or all-purpose vehicle in violation of this section; except that, equipment specified in divisions (A)(1) and (A)(2) above shall not be required on snowmobiles, off-highway motorcycles or all-purpose vehicles operated during the daylight hours.
(ORC 4519.20(A), (B))
(C) Except as otherwise provided in this division (C), whoever violates division (B) above shall be fined not more than $50. If the offender within the preceding year previously has committed a violation of division (B) above or of Ohio R.C. 4519.20(B), whoever violates division (B) above shall be fined not less than $15, nor more than $100, imprisoned not more than three days, or both.