§ 856.06  TAXICAB AND TRANSPORTATION DRIVER’S LICENSE.
   (A)   No person shall operate a taxicab or transportation vehicle within the city without first obtaining a taxicab or transportation driver’s license.
   (B)   Qualifications.
      (1)   An applicant for a taxicab or transportation driver’s license must be at least 21 years old.
      (2)   An applicant must have a valid driver’s license issued by the State of Ohio.
      (3)   No applicant shall be issued a license under this chapter if he or she has been convicted of, or pled guilty to, any of the following criminal offenses:
         (a)   Any homicide offense identified in Ohio R.C. Ch. 2903, or any substantially equivalent homicide offense under any federal, state or local law;
         (b)   Any kidnapping offense identified in Ohio R.C. Ch. 2905 et seq., or any substantially equivalent kidnapping offense under any federal, state or local law; and
         (c)   Any sex offense set forth in Ohio R.C. Ch. 2907, or any substantially equivalent sex offense under any federal, state or local law.
      (4)   No applicant shall be issued a license under this chapter if he or she has been convicted of, or pled guilty to, any of the following crimes within five years of completion of sentence:
         (a)   Unlawful possession of weapons, as defined in Ohio R.C. 2923.11 or any substantially equivalent offense under federal, state or local law;
         (b)   Any felony involving physical violence; and
         (c)   Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or a controlled substance.
   (C)   A person desiring to obtain a taxicab or transportation driver’s license shall make application in writing, under oath, to the licensing agent providing the following information:
      (1)   Full name;
      (2)   Place of residence and telephone number; place of residence for five years preceding the date of such application and place of birth;
      (3)   Date of birth, sex, height, weight, color of eyes and hair, and citizenship;
      (4)   Place of previous employment for the five years preceding the date of application;
      (5)   A valid driver’s license issued by the State of Ohio;
      (6)   Whether the applicant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor and, if so, when, where, what offense, and the sentence for each conviction;
      (7)   Whether the applicant has previously been employed as a taxicab or transportation driver, and if so, when, where and by whom; and
      (8)   Whether the applicant has ever had a previous license denied, suspended or revoked and, if so, where, when and for what reason.
   (D)   Each application for a taxicab or transportation driver’s license shall be accompanied by three unmounted, unretouched photographs of the applicant, taken within 30 days of the date of the application, suitable for attachment to the license.
   (E)   Each driver shall keep his or her correct address and phone number on file with the licensing agent and shall notify the licensing agent if there is a change in address.
(Prior Code, § 856.06)  (Ord. 136-2018, passed 11-26-2018)