(A)   All nonelected city offices shall be created by ordinance which shall specify:
      (1)   Title of office;
      (2)   Powers and duties of office;
      (3)   Oath of office; and
      (4)   Bond, if required.
   (B)   With the exception of the Police Chief and all city police officers, all non-elected city officers shall be appointed by the Mayor with approval of City Council.  The Police Chief and all city police officers shall be appointed by the Mayor at will and such appointments need not be approved by City Council.
   (C)   All non-elected officers may be removed by the Mayor at will unless otherwise provided by statute or ordinance.  Upon removal of a non-elected officer at will, the Mayor shall give the officer a written statement setting forth the reason or reasons for the removal.  However, this requirement shall not be construed as limiting in any way the at-will dismissal power of the Mayor.
(KRS 83A.080(3))
   (D)   The following are nonelected city offices:
      (1)   City Clerk and Assistant City Clerk.
      (2)   City Treasurer.
      (3)   City Attorney.
      (4)   Zoning Administrator.
      (5)   Building Inspector.
      (6)   Superintendent of Public Works.
      (7)   Site Development Inspector.
      (8)   City Administrator.
      (9)   Members of Alexandria Planning Commission.
      (10)   Members of Alexandria Board of Adjustment.
      (11)   Code Enforcement Officer
(Am. Ord. 15-94, passed 8-4-94, Am. Ord. 16-95, passed 8-9-95, Am. Ord. 27-95, passed 11 or 12/95; Am. Ord. 14-97, passed 9-25-97; Am. Ord. 14-99, passed 5-6-99; Am. Ord. 2001-10, passed 6-21-01; Am. Ord. 2003-01, passed 3-20-03)
Statutory reference:
   Nonelected city offices, see KRS 83A.080 (1), (2), (3)